Free Giveaway! THE SUMMER OF HAMMERS AND ANGELS

Shannon Wiersbitzky is the author of a Crystal Kite Award finalist, The Summer of Hammers & Angels.  Publishers Weekly says, “Down-to-earth life struggles combine with inspiring generosity of spirit in this uplifting debut.”  Sound good?  Want one?  Well, now’s your chance!  Shannon has generously offered to send a copy to a lucky winner — all you have to do is leave a comment on this blog post and the winner will be picked randomly.  Here are more details about the book:

Giveaway Notes

  • Book: G rated
  • Target audience: Middle-grade, appropriate for ages 9+

Book Notes: The Summer of Hammers and Angels

Most folks have never seen an angel.

I know, because I’ve asked them.

I asked Miss Martha at the post office.

“Maybe someday, Delia, God willing.”

God does a lot of willing in Tucker’s Ferry, West Virginia.

Delia’s summer is getting off to a terrible start. First, an inspector shows up at the house and threatens to condemn it. Then lightning strikes, literally, and Mama ends up in the hospital. To make matters even worse, with no other family to speak of, Delia is forced to move in with her nemesis, Tommy “as-dense-as-a-stump” Parker.

Not one to sit around doing nothing, Delia huddles with her best friend, Mae, and reluctantly recruits Tommy, to help. The three of them resolve to tackle the long list of repairs, one by one. But Delia quickly discovers that it takes more than energy and willingness to handle some problems. When things go from bad to worse, Delia has to take another tack, one that starts with admitting she just can’t do what needs to be done without a lot more help.

The Summer of Hammers and Angels is the story of an amazing summer in a girl’s life, a summer of surprises and challenges, of shocks and recovery, of discoveries and friendship, and of loneliness and community.

*Note: A portion of the proceeds from the sale of this book are donated to Habitat for Humanity.

And now, for some information about Shannon and her writing:

Tell us why we should buy this book.

If you believe the world could be a better place if we all helped one another a little more, then you’ll enjoy The Summer of Hammers and Angels.

[From Kathy:  I think the fact that a portion of the proceeds goes to Habitat for Humanity is another excellent reason!]

Tea or coffee?  Milk or sugar?

Coffee. Nothing fancy, just decaf with a quick zip of half and half. I get frantic if I don’t have real creamer….critical.

Why did you choose this topic?

I’ve been involved with community service since I was little. It amazes me how a group of volunteers can change someone’s life. I wanted to capture that emotion in a story.

Can you deal better with wind or rain?

I complain about both equally.

Why do you write? 

Writing “fills my well”. It gives me energy to make it through the day.

Short hair or long?

Have you seen my photo? Short all the way! Short hair makes me feel spunky.

Where do you write?

I typically write in my guest bedroom. The room has a great vibe. But I can type up a storm on planes, trains, or boats too.

Favorite sport or form of exercise?

Hiking. Stick me on a trail with good shoes, water, and a snack and I’m a happy woman. My favorite mountains are in Lake Placid.

You’re going on a book tour:  Plane, train or automobile?

Tour bus. That way we could travel down curvy roads and stop in out-of-the-way spots. I always meet interesting people in small towns.

Skill you’d most like to acquire.

Remembering names. The worst part is that I’m great with faces, so I’m aware that I should know someone’s name. If we meet and I can’t remember your name, don’t take it personally.

How do your ideas come to you?

I wish I knew! Sometimes I worry that I won’t get another good idea, that whatever I’m working on at the moment will be the last thing. Ever. Usually about a week after that thought, four or five more ideas come. I’m always thankful in that moment.

Thank you, Shannon!  Here’s how you can learn more about Shannon and The Summer of Hammers and Angels:

Website

Facebook

Goodreads

34 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

34 responses to “Free Giveaway! THE SUMMER OF HAMMERS AND ANGELS

  1. Helen

    Sounds fabulous!

  2. Kathy May

    I’m going to get this book by hook or crook, from the library or a bookstore if not from this giveaway, because it sounds great! Love the premise and the little excerpt posted.

  3. Beth

    I can’t wait…I am going to figure out how to get a classroom set since we are doing community service once a month next year…what a perfect book to go along with that 🙂

    Beth

  4. Sheila Kelly Welch

    I’ve read Shannon’s book, and it’s great! I’m glad it’s going to be used in a classroom to help encourage kids to do good things to help others.

  5. Katy Duffield

    The book sounds awesome and right down my alley. It’s going on my list. 🙂

  6. Ellen L. Ramsey

    Interesting interview. Interesting book with a fascinating, gutsy main character who refuses to give up and finds great support from her community. I highly recommend it!

  7. Jamie Martin

    I’m going add it to my to read list; thank you!
    jamielovesweeping@gmail.com

  8. I love heartwarming stories, and I’m a sucker for a great Southern voice. I’ve been meaning to read this book. Thanks for the reminder!

  9. I’ve read it, too–loved it! I think children would be intrigued and inspired by Delia’s ambition to do the work herself. I was glad that the story stayed realistic, though, and didn’t have the kids somehow miraculously making all those repairs.

  10. Stephanie MacDonald

    This book sounds like an absolute delight! I would love to read this and share it with others!

  11. Kathy – Thanks so much for hosting me! I hope everyone enjoys the book! Excited to hear who the lucky winner will be. – Shannon

  12. Pingback: Free Giveaway deadline is JUNE 13 | Kathyerskine's Blog

  13. AnnMarie Dahl

    Sounds like a great book to add to my classroom library and read aloud list! 🙂 I’ll be adding it to the “summer reading” list for me, for sure!

  14. Wow–the book sounds remarkable and I definitely plan on reading it no matter what! Thanks for doing this interview, Kathy; and thanks for what sounds like an extraordinary book, Shannon!

  15. Holly Mueller

    Sounds like a great book, and I love that part of the proceeds are going to a wonderful cause!

  16. Colleen Kosinski

    Sounds like a great book. Thanks for the giveaway!

    Colleen at myartsite dot com

  17. OK, I assigned everyone a number in the order they commented, put the numbers on slips of paper, and had my daughter pick — the winner is Kathy May! Since I happen to already know where you live, Kathy, I will send Shannon your address. This book is so perfect for you!! Shannon, Kathy wrote THE MOLASSES MAN and is working on novels with the same tone as yours. Congratulations! Thanks, everyone, for all your comments!

  18. Kathy May

    I am so thrilled to receive this gift! Can’t believe this book will be delivered to my door. Thank you, Shannon Nutter-Wiersbitzky for writing The Summer of Hammer and Angels. And thanks to Kathy Erskine for her wonderful blog and for being an inspiring author and teacher!

Leave a Reply

