THE BOY PROJECT, thanks to Kami Kinard

Do you remember feeling like everyone else had SO much experience with boys and you couldn’t even get a “normal” guy to look at you?  What gets a boy’s attention?  What do they really like?  WHO do they really like?  Well, if you’re Kara McAllister you can make a science project out of that dilemma.  In her own words:

I’ll be the eighth-grade version of Jane Goodall, except I’ll be observing boys, instead of chimps. Not that there’s a huge difference.

Kara is funny, earnest, full of self-doubt but gaining confidence every day.  She’s also a great friend and very crafty — you wouldn’t believe the damage she can repair with duct tape.  I think you’ll get an idea of the humor and spirit in Kara from this interview with her author, Kami Kinard:

What’s always in your fridge? Ketchup

Favorite comfort food? Hot Tamales (the candy)

Chocolate or some lesser nectar of the gods?  Something less rich, like Hot Tamales.

Food you’d rather starve than eat. Canned green peas. And/or mayonnaise.

Tea or coffee?  Flavor?  Milk or sugar?  Earl Grey Tea (but I’d rather smell coffee.) Sugar.

Favorite season? Winter, it may not be cold where I live, but at least it’s too cold for the sand gnats.

Can you deal better with wind or rain? Wind.

Deciduous or evergreen? Evergreen.

Cat or dog? Dog

Flats or heels? Heels

Natural fibers or synthetics? Natural

Jeans or fancier? Fancier, but only slightly

Short hair or long? Long

Ideal evening. One with free time for me to work. Really.

Ideal vacation. Hmmm. We tend to have fun wherever we go.

Favorite board, card, or computer game? I like Settlers of Catan (thanks to you, Kathy Erskine), and I love card games like spades and hearts.

Favorite sport or form of exercise? Walking the dog (pathetic, I know. Please don’t tell me it doesn’t count.).

Language in which you’d most like to be fluent. French

Country you’d most like to visit. Hmmm. I’d have fun wherever I get to go!

Skill you’d most like to acquire. Drawing.

Favorite musical instrument. French Horn

You’re going on a book tour:  Plane, train or automobile? Don’t know!

Topic you think most needs writing about. We really need more books that will appeal to boys who struggle in school. (like The Absolute Value of Mike)   Note from Kathy:  I did not ask her to say that.

Author you’d like to meet. Eoin Colfer- I’ve heard he’s a blast.

Question you’d ask that author. Wanna play spades or hearts?

What most surprises you about our current culture? I hate that we’ve become a culture where we care more about ourselves than each other.  I am surprised by greed and lack of altruism.  It makes me sad for our country and scared for our future.  Note from Kathy:  See?  This is the earnest, heartwarming side of Kami, just like you’ll see in Kara.

Some favorite books? Catcher in the Rye (yes, me too), Harry Potter (yes, me too, too), Inkheart, Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, The Grapes of Wrath, The Hunger Games, Diary of a Wimpy Kid, The Giver…  I’m all over the map.

Some favorite movies? Loved the Lord of the Rings movies and, in total contrast, a quirky older film called Strictly Ballroom. (It pre-dates Dancing with the Stars.) I also thought the newer version of Hairspray was super-fun.

And that’s Kami–super fun!!  In just 4 weeks The Boy Project: Notes and Observations of Kara McAllister will be available.  You can preorder it now!  I can’t think of a better way to spend New Year’s Day than curled up with a fantastic read . . . unless maybe you had some Hot Tamales to go with it.  :o)  In the meantime, you can visit Kami at her website AND her craft blog!

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “THE BOY PROJECT, thanks to Kami Kinard

  1. Thanks for this interview, you two. I can’t wait to read Kami’s book. And I’d have bet money on flats over heels, so I now realize I need to rethink what I thought I new about Kami…

  2. kamikinard

    Thanks for interviewing me Kathy! And tall people wear heels too, Audrey! Though I have to admit, my heels usually fairly sturdy….. usually….

  3. What a great interview! Looking forward to reading this book.
    Joan
    http://book-log.blogspot.com

    • You’ll love it! By the way, I was just thinking of you, Joan, because I emailed Larry Brimner this weekend to thank him for his book recommendations in the BookHook newsletter, and told him how much I love his BIRMINGHAM SUNDAY, which I discovered because of YOU, so thank you!

  4. MY favorite books – Catcher in the Rye, Harry Potter, Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil (loved the movie), The Hunger Games (can’t wait for the movie), (and Catching Fire, Mockingjay), The Giver (My absolute fav) I’m with you – all over the map. Thanks for the interview! It was fun and a great way to know you better!

  5. Larry Brimner has a new book out, BLACK AND WHITE. The man doesn’t stop researching (thoroughly) and writing (superbly).
    Happy reading!
    Joan

  6. Thank you all for the support. How funny that you like the same books I do Ann. Joan, thanks for the reading suggestion.

Leave a Reply

