Alma Fullerton Interview

Here’s one of my favorite Canadian authors, Alma Fullerton — and she’s funny, too!  Winner of many awards, she writes free verse novels on tough topics, making them approachable to all levels and ages of readers.  As her website states, “Children live through situations every day that adults won’t let them read about.”

And now for the Q&A…

Tea or coffee? Coffee or herbal tea   Milk or sugar? Cream in my coffee – milk is just ick, black tea or green tea or red? Yellow?Whatever color tea tends to be.

Favorite season? Fall – I like colour. My least favorite is winter. Winter is cold and it’s too long here.

Can you deal better with wind or rain? Rain if it’s not flooding my basement.

Deciduous or evergreen? Deciduous. Change is good.

What’s always in your fridge? These really gross pickles that no one will eat, and no one will throw out because they aren’t expired.

Favorite comfort food? Anything my hubby cooks – aside from pasta. Pasta scares me breathless.

Chocolate or some lesser nectar of the gods? Chocolate filled with some lesser nectar of the gods.

Food you’d rather starve than eat. Pasta. Either way, it could kill me.

Cat or dog? Big hundred pound dogs who think they’re small enough to curl up on your lap.

Flats or heels? Flats. I’m a klutz.

Jeans or fancier? Depends on the occasion. Jeans for everyday.

Short hair or long? On me or men? My hair is long but I like short hair on men.

Ideal evening. A thundershower, a glass of good wine,  and an awesome book.

Ideal vacation. Somewhere warm where I can just hang with family and don’t have to work.

Favorite board, card, or computer game? I don’t have a favourite but anything I can play with friends and family. I’m not big on computer games. 

Favorite sport or form of exercise? Contemporary dance – as long as I don’t smash myself in the face with my knee – as I said I’m a klutz.

Language in which you’d most like to be fluent. Any language spoken with a hic or a click of the tongue in it. I think it would be fun.

Country you’d most like to visit.  I’ve been to Europe, but if I pick one other specific country the others may feel bad so I’ll say all of them. I love to travel.

Skill you’d most like to acquire. Sanity. Is that a skill or a state of mind? It’s probably the second so perhaps ability to concentrate for more than thirty seconds.

Favorite musical instrument. To play or listen to? I play the piano, saxophone, clarinet, trumpet and a bit of the guitar. I’d love to learn the violin.

You’re going on a book tour:  Plane, train or automobile? All three. I love the train. Planes are fast and you can stop wherever you want in a car.

Topic you’d most like to write about. If there’s an answer to this question you will see the book – but I write about anything I feel passionate about.

Topic you think most needs writing about. I think anything you feel passionate about, you need to write about. If you don’t use your voice to say what you feel, no one else will say it for you. And if they do, it won’t be in the same way you can say it.

Author you’d like to meet. Harper Lee.

Question you’d ask that author. I don’t know that I’d be able make my mouth work to ask anything.

What / who gives you inspiration? My ‘screw you’ attitude that I have toward the teachers and people who told me I couldn’t ever write a book because I’m dyslexic.

Some favorite movies? I like almost anything with Sandra Bullock.

Some favorite books? To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee. Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine(and I’m not just saying that), Touch Blue by Cynthia Lord, Keeper by Kathi Appelt, Turtle in Paradise by Jennifer L. Holm and anything with a really strong character as well as an awesome plot.

Thanks, Alma!  Please visit Alma at her website.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Alma Fullerton Interview

  1. Enjoyed this interview. Thanks, Kathy!

Leave a Reply

