Crystal Kite Award Winner Ann Angel

Congratulations to Ann Angel, SCBWI Crystal Kite Award winner for the Minnesota, Iowa, Nebraska, Wisconsin, Illinois, Michigan, Indiana, and Ohio region.  Her biography of Janis Joplin also won the 2011 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction!  Read on for a little more info about Ann:

Q :  Tea or coffee?  Flavor?  Milk or sugar?
Ann:  I’m a bit of a coffee snob and drink Alterra which is roasted in Wisconsin. A drop of milk is all I want with it…unless there’s chocolate cake… for breakfast.
Q:  Food you’d rather starve than eat.
Ann:  Tripe. Please tell me who actually eats stomach tissue. Just thinking about it gives me the heebie-jeebies.

Q:  Favorite season?

Ann:  Summer. No spring. No the first snowfall. But I also love walking through crunchy autumn leaves.
Q:  Cat or dog?

Ann:  Dog.

Q:  Flats or heels?

Ann:  Flip flops in summer. Boots in winter.

Q:  Ideal vacation.

Ann:  A white sand beach.

Q:  Favorite board, card, or computer game?

Ann:  Sheepshead — a card game that I play for nickels.

Q:  Country you’d most like to visit.

Ann:  My family travels a lot but we’ve never been to Ireland or Scotland so I’d get a kick out of seeing those countries. But I’d also love to go to an African Savannah on a photographic safari. I’d like to dance in the streets of Brazil and see a kangaroo in Australia. I hear New Zealand is spectacular. I love new experiences and think change is marvelous so I think I’m saying I’d love to pack up and take off for just about anyplace.

Q:  What most surprises you about our current culture?

Ann:  I think I’m surprised that our culture continues to turn a blind eye to the way women and children are still treated as marginal members of communities around the world.

Q:  Some favorite books?

Ann:  I’m reading a book right now called Half the Sky which is about the marginalization of women and poor kids. I’d recommend it. My favorite books change frequently depending upon what I’m reading though so I’ll tell you what I’m reading: The YA novel Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John rocked. When you Reach Me amazed me because Rebecca Stead handled time travel so effortlessly. Of course, Mockingbird broke my heart and gave me hope for adolescents who struggle with their peers. The YA novel Stolen by Lucy Christopher was absolutely chilling. I have a stack of books next to my bed that are my to-be-read pile. They include Moon Over Manifest, Stolen Child, Selling Hope, Turtle in Paradise, and more.
Please visit Ann’s website to learn more about her and her books:  www.annangelwriter.com.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

