My New Favorite Blog

He’s a teacher, he’s a dad, he’s a (very talented) writer, he’s an American living in England, and he has a great perspective on so many things.  And his posts are a beautiful combination of humor, poignancy and inspiration.

Barely 30, he hangs out with the elderly bowlers (as in, indoor lawn bowling) at the local church hall on Thursday nights.  I think he’s a people collector — you know, the kind of person who just loves people and notices them and appreciates them?  He’s a random-acts-of-kindness type.  His wife is studying for her PhD in international social concerns, specifically to prevent human trafficking.  They published a book through Rutgers University Press last year:  DEDICATED TO THE PEOPLE OF DARFUR: Writings on Fear, Risk, and Hope. All royalties from the book are donated to The Save Darfur Coalition.

Luke and Jennifer Reynolds are both change-the-world types.  And they will.  Did I mention they were only in their 20’s when they published their book?  And Luke is working on another anthology (which I’m honored to be invited to join) called BREAK THESE RULES — young adult authors writing about “rules” (like how to dress, how to act, etc.) they felt bound by as middle and high schoolers, and advice on how to break them.   All royalties from that book will be donated to the Children’s Defense Fund.

OK, I think I should actually give you the blog link now, don’t you?  Here it is:  http://reynoldsluke.blogspot.com/

And here’s a direct link to his funny and touching review of my upcoming book, THE ABSOLUTE VALUE OF MIKE (Philomel, June 2011).

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I get to read Luke’s middle grade manuscript.  The title alone makes me eager to read it:  ATTICUS AND ME.  I suspect I’ll enjoy as much as his blog, which I hope you enjoy, too.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My New Favorite Blog

  1. I cried with Mockingbird, can’t wait to read The Absolute Value of Mike. SOunds terrific. Great review.

  2. I bet it is a great blog

Leave a Reply

