Countdown . . . Quaking . . . 3 Days . . . 3 Books . . .

Quaking reveals the Quaker tenets and how they’re generally carried out, the way others might feel about Quakers, and what it’s like to attend an unprogrammed Quaker meeting, but it’s not a religious book and that’s not the reason for the story. The Quaker tenet of peace was a perfect backdrop for Matt’s (MC) story, but also, I like to give some info about little known topics in my books (all two of them, so far) because I love reading fiction, getting caught up in a good story but also learning (painlessly) something new.

So, today’s topic is to name 3 books that have taught you something, effortlessly, in a story you enjoyed.

The ones that come to my mind immediately are not necessarily for kids, altho’ I know middle schoolers who love them:

1. The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency series by Alexander McCall Smith (culture of Botswana)
2. Jim Chee and Joe Leaphorn detective novels by Tony Hillerman (Dine, aka Navajo, culture)
3. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime by Mark Haddon (Autism spectrum disorders)

How about you?

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Countdown . . . Quaking . . . 3 Days . . . 3 Books . . .

  1. To Kill A Mockingbird 🙂

    Wishing you every success for your book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. My classic answer to this is Vikram Seth’s A Suitable Boy…by the time I finished, I felt like I knew everything about India in the 1950s, and it was a fabulous, fantastic story. I know there are others, but I’ll have to think about this.

    And good luck with your book! I’ll be looking for it in stores…I can’t wait to read it.

  3. I’m too busy to think of any!

    Let’s see, looking at my shelves —

    I learned about living on an island in the middle of the Chesapeake Bay from JACOB HAVE I LOVED.
    I learned about Krakatoa from THE TWENTY-ONE BALLOONS.
    I learned how pioneers made cheese from LITTLE HOUSE IN THE BIG WOODS (and a lot of other food, too).

Leave a Reply

