Deal, No Deal

[Warning: No Howie, no Beautiful Women.]

Facts:
1. Contract on first real novel 3 1/2 years ago. Much excitement.
2. Nothing happens for many moons.
3. First revision.
4. Company shuffle.
5. Novel shuffled to new editor.
6. Nothing happens.
7. Go visit new editor.
8. First revision with new editor.
9. Second revision with new editor.
10. No one happy with novel now.
11. Contract rescinded by mutual consent. Much sadness (on my part, at least).

Feelings:
1. Like losing friends–both the novel and the people who are all quite wonderful.
2. Failure, at relationships and my job.
3. Mourning the loss.

Resolution:
Too soon to tell but the novel was (is?) about coming to terms with death and ends, as all my novels, with hope. Because I’m all about hope. Without that, where would we be?

So, time to get to work on the current ms. That means you, too. Thanks for listening.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Deal, No Deal

  1. I’m torn between feeling brokenhearted for you and relieved that you FINALLY have some sort of resolution. But I’m mostly brokenhearted because it’s made you sad. I’m so sorry and I can only hope that later you’ll feel it was all for the best. I don’t know how but I hope so.

  2. This has been so hard on you. I’m glad there’s resolution, anyway.

    I hope you can salvage the book and find a new editor who loves it. And I’m glad you’ve got K. to navigate the business end of it all.

  3. The business part of writing is so heartbreaking. How do any of us stand it? Hope? Faith?

    Craziness?

    I hope that novel sees the light of day some day!

  4. Ooh, that sucks. I’ve had several novels I loved, loved, loved that got my rejected by one house after another and eventually came to the end of the line.

    On the other hand, I’ve finally come to the point where my published novels outnumber my unpublished ones.

    You are not a failure. You just ended up with someone who had a different vision.

  5. I’m sorry, Kathy. What a long time to be hanging on and waiting, and all that work. But you had the feeling it wasn’t going to be right with the changes being asked for, so this way you can start over and make sure it’s right. Abandon all thoughts of failure. They lost out.

  6. Thanks, everyone, for your support.

    I had a heartwarming experience this morning which makes me feel better, not about my book necessarily, but about writing in general. My son, a non-reader because of learning disabilities, got in the car this morning and, instead of playing heavy metal music and text messaging his friends, sat silently and voluntarily reading “Ender’s Game!” (I LOVE YOU, Orson Scott Card).

    That alone makes it a good day.

  7. Death and resurrection

    I’m sorry – it is sad – publishers are people too and we do get emotionally entangled.

    I hope the death of this dream gives life to another one – that this manuscript will find it’s true home.

  8. Oh, this was hard to read. I hope your novel finds the right home some day.

    And HOORAY for your son and ENDER’S GAME!

  9. I’m so sorry to hear this. It must be really hard. Best of luck in the future!

  10. Oh…super sucky bummer.
    Good for you for getting back to it! Go you!

Leave a Reply

