Flurries

My thoughts today —

There are flurries so the kids, who have just left, will no doubt be home soon. They were knocking on wood throughout breakfast. And, I believe, a total of 17 flakes is enough for school closure and widespread panic in our area. Driving conditions do get bad, as people try to careen around snowflakes.

I am out of cheese hotdogs with which to bribe the dog during walks so her goofy and LARGE self will not pounce on people or other dogs. Not going to the store, though. (See above.)

I have finally come to the conclusion that I can make something of this novel that has been through publishing house hell for over 3 years (too long a saga to recount). If I don’t think it’s a great story at this point, and the things I want to do with it aren’t particularly welcomed, I should still, even within constraints, be able to craft it into something I can be happy with. I mean, who is the writer here? I suppose I should not have told the editor that it’s not a great story at this point. I suppose that was a commentary on her editing. But I want it to be a “wow” book if it has my name on it. Otherwise, why put it out there? I’m going to give it a real try, though, and see what I can come up with.

I want to be the kind of writer my son admires — once he whipped a book off the bookstore shelf with barely a glance and headed to the checkout. I stopped him. “What book is it? Did you even LOOK at it? Do you know ANYTHING about it?” “Mom,” he said, staring at me like I was the weird one, “it’s a SPINELLI!”

So many things to do–just writing things alone, never mind the million trips and boring chores. Must get to work. Must have more coffee.

May everyone have a day of inspirations and time to jot them all down.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Flurries

  1. Oh, that Jerry Spinelli has some wicked writing magic!

  2. “So many things to do–just writing things alone, never mind the million trips and boring chores. Must get to work. Must have more coffee. “

    Hmm. This is me today. Except with more anxiety thrown in. 🙂

  3. I know I’m late but I wanted to congratulate you on your book sale! I’m a fellow Chautauqua-ite of 2004.

    YAY YOU!

    • Thanks, Pam! Yes, I definitely remember you from Chautauqua with your energy and lovely personality. I was so impressed that you got up and went running every morning! I’m glad you’re doing so well in your writing! I know you work hard and you deserve every success.

      Hope we meet again soon!

Leave a Reply

