J.K. Rowling, King Charles I, and I

Here’s J.K.’s house in Edinburgh, which I visited last month:

IMG_1444

OK, so actually I was just a stalker and went to snap a photo because my friends live around the corner from her.  It’s just a big house on the main road.  Well, not just a big house; it has quite an interesting history, dating from the 1600’s.  It’s one of the oldest homes in Edinburgh and belonged to King Charles I’s lawyer, who traveled down to London to defend him against treason.  As the story goes, the lawyer was excellent and made compelling arguments but no one could understand his Scottish brogue so the king lost his head anyway.  I’m not sure what happened to the lawyer.

IMG_1443J.K. is putting in a new gate, hence the temporary screens.  My friend walked me up to her gate like a gentleman because I felt so stalker-ish.  He also said, with earnest, “Had she only known you were going to be in town, I’m quite sure she would’ve invited you to tea.”    Hahahaha!  I almost lost my head over that one.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “J.K. Rowling, King Charles I, and I

  1. This made me smile. She would have had you to tea for sure.

  2. I love how book people get so geeked out by authors. Even when they’re authors!

  3. I swear I saw her peering just over the hedge and snapping photos of your house the last time I pulled out your drive. Wouldn’t surprise me, Kathy. ;)

  4. You are so observant, Shelley! I must be more watchful … and put a sign in the front yard, “J.K. Rowling, come on down!”

  5. That must have been quite an experience.

Leave a Reply

