Sarah Sullivan: Crystal Kite Finalist

Sarah Sullivan, Crystal Kite finalist, writes beautiful stories you’ll want to add to your library.  The acclaimed PASSING THE MUSIC DOWN has the added punch of being based on the real life stories of two fiddlers:  Melvin Wine and Jake Krack.  It’s a great caring and friendship story, just like her ROOT BEER AND BANANA, which I love.  Sarah also deals with the ups and downs of sibling love in DEAR BABY: LETTERS FROM YOUR BIG BROTHER and ONCE UPON A BABY BROTHER.  I’m delighted to share some of Sarah’s thoughts, feelings, and favorite things!

I think you’ll get a feel for her beautiful writing immediately:

What helps you write?

So often, as I stare frantically at the computer screen, waiting for the right word, the right sentence, the right phrase of dialogue to spring into my mind, what comes instead is a cold, clammy feeling of inadequacy.  What stirs me to write on these occasions, when I do not believe myself up to the task, is to read something that simply knocks me out.  Then I want desperately to try again.  It’s like smelling brownies baking in the oven.  Your stomach growls.  Your mouth waters.  You can’t wait to taste them.  When I read a wonderful book, my fingers twitch, my mind buzzes.  I can’t wait to try again!

Where do you write?

I like to write at home by myself, in the place where I feel as unself-conscious as possible, but I can write just about anywhere as long as it’s not too noisy.

Why should kids read books when there are so many other things to do?

For the same reasons that everyone should read books.  To understand the world.  To nurture compassion for other creatures on this earth, human and otherwise.  To open your mind to possibility.

Tea or coffee?  Flavor?  Milk or sugar? 

Coffee, but only if it’s Dark Roast.  Otherwise, tea.  I like strong flavors.

Favorite season?

Fall.  I love the ethereal quality of sunsets reflecting off of brightly-colored leaves.

Chocolate or some lesser nectar of the gods?

Chocolate – dark, like the coffee

Ideal evening.

Reading in front of a crackling fire with Respighi’s Ancient Airs and Dances playing in the background

Ideal vacation.

New York City — Theater.  Museums. Walking, walking, walking.

Country you’d most like to visit.

Ireland

Some favorite books?

THE GREAT GATSBY by F. Scott Fitzgerald, OLIVE KITTERIDGE by Elizabeth Strout, WALK TWO MOONS by Sharon Creech, BECAUSE OF WINN-DIXIE by Kate DiCamillo, and THE SUMMER BOOK by Tove Jansson

Some favorite movies?

GOSFORD PARK, NORTH BY NORTHWEST, and MIDNIGHT IN PARIS

Thanks, Sarah!  Please visit Sarah’s delightfully appealing (and informative) website!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sarah Sullivan: Crystal Kite Finalist

  1. Thanks for the recommendation, Kathy. Just added it to my “to read” list!

  2. awritersdream41

    I like the title of this book. I’ll be sure to check it out. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

